Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cast net for shrimp
matt2ga
post Aug 11 2006, 07:56 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,623

I want to buy a cast net for shrimp. I've never used one before. What is the best size to get for a beginner? I don't want to spend alot on one until I can figure out how to use it. Any recommendations as to brands or a place to buy one?

I've seen some posts recently that say the shrimp are in the creeks. Are y'all going way back up into small creeks or fishing just inside larger creeks? Where is the best place to try and find these critters? I'll be in the Sunbury area. Thanks for any advice.

Matt
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Chewbcca
post Aug 11 2006, 08:17 AM
Post #2

Chewbcca

Member No.: 373

Matt,

For bait shrimp, you can use any mesh size, for food shrimp, you have to use (I believe) 3/8" mesh and the net can be no larger than 8'. I would start with at least a 6' net, anything less does not have enough spead to make it worthwhile to cast, at least I think so. I use an 8'.

Shrimp farther back in the creeks right now are going to be small, I go into the larger rivers along the inside curve, when the tide is out of the grass (anything else and you are wasting your time, they will be in the grass. I find last half of the outgoing to first half of the incoming the right mix.

I do not buy expensive nets, Betts Blue or some other work fine, and if you tear them up on oysters, as you will, it doesn't hurt as much in the wallet. Boat US, Bass Pro shop, Boaters World all have them.

Someone on the boards posted a link to a cast net video, changed the way I throw one for the better. Anyone still know or have that link?

Hope that helps

Mike

This post has been edited by Chewbcca: Aug 11 2006, 08:18 AM

--------------------
Capt Mike Weathers
USCG 100T Master

Pathfinder 22

+Quote Post
Sea Note
post Aug 11 2006, 08:18 AM
Post #3

Forum Advisor

Member No.: 110